PDA

View Full Version : PPL Captains Brief

sclan
9th Sep 2006, 17:38
Hi everyne. I am a PPL student with 35 hours under my belt out of Bristil Int. On the PA28 check list at the end of the pre-take off checks there is the captians brief. Could anyone out there please tell me what the captain is meant to say for this. :) Thanks SCLAN.

Malcolm G O Payne
9th Sep 2006, 17:51
It is some time since I was involved, but as far as I remember it is a case of stating the actions to be taken on departure, speed to be used (rotate and climb), any airfield specific procedure in the initial in the climb-out and action in the event of engine failure after take-off.

tmmorris
9th Sep 2006, 17:52
The idea is that you brief anyone else in the ac (or yourself if you feel the need...) on the forthcoming takeoff and any emergencies... e.g. (a long version):

'This will be a standard shortfield takeoff with 15 deg flap selected. I will hold the ac on the brakes, apply full power and confirm 2300 rpm before releasing the brakes. Rotation will be at 55kts for a climb speed of 65kts.

In the event of a problem on the runway I will close the throttle and brake. In the event of engine failure after takeoff if there is sufficient runway available I will land back on; if not, I will choose a field within 30 degrees of the nose and land there. I will ask you to open the door and wedge it with a shoe, then adopt the brace position until we come to a standstill. [In the event of engine failure above 500ft I will attempt to land back on the airfield.]*

Any questions?'

*this bit is controversial but the RAF do include this in the standard Tutor takeoff brief, though I couldn't swear to the height (e.g. could be 600 or 700).

Tim

BEagle
9th Sep 2006, 18:09
Look, it's a little PA28, nothing more...... Why bother mentioning the take-off and climb speeds? Who else is interested?

State who will be flying the take-off - and what anyone else should do if there is an emergency at the time.