PDA

View Full Version : Oxford Aviation Training (OAT) - Who has got a job?

father murry
1st Feb 2005, 10:18
Can any one shed any light on just how successfull the new Oxford APP students are on getting jobs within 6 months of graduating?

I hear that alot are getting employed. Is it as a direct result of the APP or is it just timing?

Have they dropped the old style intergrated students out of their `Airline recomendation pile` cos i know loads who are still waiting and watching as the new and improved APP guys pass them by on the way to pick up their ID passes!

lscajp
1st Feb 2005, 15:37
Hello,

I would be interested in this too as i'm considering the APP.

Thanks,

Charlie

Hobo
1st Feb 2005, 16:08
Some info at:

www.oxfordaviation.net

Hidden away in "Career" Link then "Job Notice Board" - Most of these were APP I think.

father murry
2nd Feb 2005, 08:43
Thanks Dr Pep.

It is quite amazing how much this industry is a complete lottery for new for pilots.

I graduated from Oxford in 2002 and since then they have done `0` for me. My life has effectivly been on hold for over 3 years networking, applying for jobs, reading everything i can about where jobs might be comming up, shelling out to stay current, paying vast sums of money on plane tickets - hotels to attend interviews and sim checks and have had 3 job offers as a result - that all ultimatly fell through in the last stages due to other pilots pitching up last minuite with a hundred or so more hours than me.

It all dawned on me the other day when i was in Oxford and i herd a 22 year old lad who had graduated in early December 2004 commenting to another student that `the last 3 weeks since Oxford reccommended me to BA its been awful, in fact its like ive been on tender hooks, waiting for them to finally get round to offering me the job!`

22 years old, 3 WEEKS, Oxford reccommended me, B.A., !!!

`Live a little - live a lotto!`

Maude Charlee
2nd Feb 2005, 11:22