PDA

View Full Version : QFE / QNH

SparkyBoy
3rd Jul 2006, 14:33
I am still very new to aviation so this may be a silly question...
:uhoh:
I'm being instructed to use QNH on take off and QFE on landing, this makes sense to me because it's handy to know where 0ft is when your approaching a r/w.
A video on these forums shows a pilot landing with 300ft still on the AI, which suggests he is still using regional QNH. Is this normal practise, is it a UK specific thing to use QFE?

<EDIT 1> I understand I should have said QNH and not Regional QNH
<EDIT 2> This thread could now also be titled, how to fly with QFE and not die! ;)

Cheers

Sparky

Deano777
3rd Jul 2006, 14:47
Sparky

I guess this will be pilot specific, the more experienced pilot may wish to use Airfield QNH (as opposed Regional as you stated), it could have been a case where he had forgot to set QFE, in the grand scheme of things as long as you are comfortable with whichever you use then I see no problems, however, student pilots & inexperienced pilots alike would be well advised to use the system they were taught by their instructors

Dean

DeeCee
3rd Jul 2006, 14:58
It depends on the airfield in question. For example, one airfield that I know always uses QNH and the circuit altitude is published as 1200'. As the airfield elevation is approx 200' this represents a circuit height of 1000' above ground level. Another I know uses QFE, but it is only around 50' above sea level. I suppose that that must be the reason for the choice between the two.

Your man with 300' on the clock should have been using the local i.e. airfield's QNH, not the regional setting.

IO540
3rd Jul 2006, 15:21
QFE is a silly thing which is used only (as far as I know) in the UK. It is really confusing and should be abolished.