PDA

View Full Version : Right Hand Seat

Shinty
23rd May 2006, 15:23
I’m a VFR pilot only. Just wondering can I fly from the right hand seat when I’m by myself or when I’ve a non-pilot in the left hand seat?

UV
23rd May 2006, 16:11
No you cannot!

javelin
23rd May 2006, 16:29
Provided you can reach the switches - yes you can !

Same applies to tandem, doesn't matter which seat you sit in unless c of g is a factor

Mark 1
23rd May 2006, 17:14
Perfectly OK, as long as you have full view of the instruments and access to the controls.

It can be a bit disorienting first time or two, so worth doing it under supervision until you feel comfortable.

I know a few instructors who have got so used to it that they choose to fly in the RH seat all the time, even when not instructing.

Edit to add - very occasionally the POH stipulates the captain's seating position, or solo seating position.

Mike Cross
23rd May 2006, 17:17
(Talking UK here)

The ANO requires the pilot to remain at the controls (you weren't considering putting it on autopilot so you could chat up a girl in the aft galley were you?)
Apart from that in the absence of any prohibition (eg in the Pilot's Operating Handbook) I'm not aware of any reason why not.

The main issues will be that flying from the right hand seat is (for me at least) a very different experience that skews your visual references. Therefore I suggest you try it with a qualified safety pilot in the LHS so you can hand over to him if you don't like it.

The standard "keep to the right of a line feature" and "left hand circuit" are also predicated on you sitting on the left and therefore having a good view in that direction.

On my aircraft there are no brakes on the RHS and on some you might find some of the controls not replicated or more difficult to use (requiring more swapping of hands).