PDA

View Full Version : Will Degrees Magnetic be eliminated eventually?

sstaurus
20th Apr 2006, 18:53
Not sure if this is the right forum, but I'm a newb and this is training related.

Reading in my textbooks, I found out that all GPS/Satellite Navigation is in deg True. Even though currently most charts are in Magnetic, it says eventually Magnetic will likely be eliminated as all air-navigation slowly switches over to satellite navigation/GPS.

Is this true? Is radio-navigation going to eventually go away? And GPS will be it?

Is the trusty ol' compass due to be retired? I was kinda sad reading that, thinking I won't get as much use out of all the radio and chart reading I'm learning about.

Anyway, thanks for any comments!

itsbrokenagain
20th Apr 2006, 19:17
You need to keep reading thru the books some more, you will find far too many things need degrees magnetic, the list is way way way too long to even consider discussing it ( but dont worry someone here will! )

MIKECR
20th Apr 2006, 21:22
Just wait till the 'magnetic flip' occurs, that should put a spanner in the works! Apparently its overdue too.

Jinkster
20th Apr 2006, 22:04
Possible the compass could retire in some places

comment deleted following concern expressed by another poster .. related to the other deletions
:rolleyes:

rhovsquared
20th Apr 2006, 23:39
I hope to hell not, because then I can't set the gyrocompass and
I'd get lost:ouch:

arismount
20th Apr 2006, 23:53
.. your post really didn't add much to the discussion, my friend ..

Gnirren
21st Apr 2006, 00:40
.. no point leaving the responses to the earlier ill-considered post ..

Capt Claret
21st Apr 2006, 00:44

FlyVMO
21st Apr 2006, 00:47

regor
21st Apr 2006, 00:49
Can anyone clear up a specific enquiry about the mag' var' for EGGW.
The current mag' var' is 2 degrees West, with true rwy headings of 074 & 274.
So why do the latest Jeppesen charts show the magnetic rwy headings as 077 & 257?:hmm:

stilton
21st Apr 2006, 00:50

BGQ