PDA

View Full Version : Finding the part number of connector and pin

mohnishvarma
15th Apr 2006, 07:37
Hi,
i am an engineer on the b737-800, i wanted to know the procedure of finding the part number of connector and pins associated with a wire/component.

Bolty McBolt
15th Apr 2006, 08:14
If you are an engineer and you don't know how to find a part number of a component.
I would have to ask why you are allowed to touch such equipment in the first place

The schematics manual is a good start, or perhaps the wiring manual...:ouch:

JamesA
15th Apr 2006, 11:00
I quite agree with you Bolty, but, at least the lad has asked for help. I know a lot who wouldn't - hurts their pride to show they don't know everything. I would rather be asked the most basic questions than have someone continuing in ignorance.

Mohnishvarna,
Keep asking everything, even if you think you know. Being certain gives a great sense of satisfaction.

hetfield
15th Apr 2006, 17:57
Hope your wife remembers part# of your pin.

jaadu
15th Apr 2006, 23:52
ASFKAP: Well done for accurate detailed & postive response:ok:

Bolty McBolt
16th Apr 2006, 02:44
ASFKAP a good post but i don't believe this is the forum to teach this skill.
You also mention if you have access to the WDM SWPM. I should hope he has access or he shouldn't be touching anything on an aircraft without relevant reference material

MilEng2CivPilot
18th Apr 2006, 11:32
Im on the fence with this one, (my first post so please excuse!).
I agree with you Bolty wholeheartedly, im a senior technican within the military aviation bubble, and agree if you do not know which publications to look in then you shouldnt be any where near the hangar!

However I also applaud mosh's open honesty in not knowing and asking for advice however would like to think (and please god!) that there is a system in place for him to find out this information at his place of work.