PDA

View Full Version : Stick Force and High Speed Flight Questions

ask26
1st Apr 2006, 19:35
Hi there, I am studying for my ATPL's and in looking at feedback I have 4 that I was wondering if people could help with, I think they are quite hard and so this is a more appropriate place than in the Wannabees forum:

1) An aircraft with a high Design Limit Load Factor allows a manufacturer to design for a smaller stick force/g
=== True or False

I think true as for example in an aerobatic aircraft you don't want to over stress the pilot so the sf/g would be less but the max stick force would be the same

2) The stick force/g is a limit in use of an aircraft; the pilot can check this out in the flight manual.
=== True or False

3) Where is the discontinuity plane in a normal shockwave?
=== Normal to the surface
=== Normal to the relative airflow

Different websites suggest both but I was wondering if there is a subtle difference between one normal to the surface as a shock wave and normal to the relative airflow as in a bow wave.

4) Does a bow wave form at M=1.0 or just above Mach 1

Again different results, Googling gave me Selkirk Aviation College that suggests at M=1.0 but Nasa seems to imply at above M=1.0

===========

Any help that people can give would be much appreciated

Genghis the Engineer
1st Apr 2006, 19:58
Hi there, I am studying for my ATPL's and in looking at feedback I have 4 that I was wondering if people could help with, I think they are quite hard and so this is a more appropriate place than in the Wannabees forum:
1) An aircraft with a high Design Limit Load Factor allows a manufacturer to design for a smaller stick force/g
=== True or False
I think true as for example in an aerobatic aircraft you don't want to over stress the pilot so the sf/g would be less but the max stick force would be the same