PDA

View Full Version : Landing Clearances at MYNN

nathanv
13th Mar 2006, 03:18
I am a first officer working in the Caribbean region and have a question about when a landing clearance can and should be given. This may sound like a silly or obvious question but let me explain why I ask. One of the airports we serve is MYNN (Nassau), and the controllers there have a habit of issuing clearance to land whilst other aircraft are on the runway, and even clearing aircraft to line up and wait on a runway, having already issued another aircraft clearance to land on the same runway. I feel this is the result of issuing landing clearances prematurely, for example today we were cleared to land whilst on a downwind leg for a visual approach. I was wondering what the standard procedure is to determine when this clearance is issued.
Any help on this would be appreciated as I find the practice disconcerting and worrying from a safety point of view
Cheers
Nathanv:ok:

John Doe II
13th Mar 2006, 17:53
Perhaps its under influence from "the land of big opportunities"... :rolleyes:

This is what ICAO PANS-ATM Doc 4444 Chapter 7 will tell you:

7.8.2 Separation of departing aircraft
Except as provided in 7.10 and Chapter 5, Section 5.8, a departing aircraft will not normally be permitted to commence take-off until the preceding departing aircraft has crossed the end of the runway-in-use or has started a turn or until all preceding landing aircraft are clear of the runway-in-use.

7.8.3 Take-off clearance

7.8.3.1 Take-off clearance may be issued to an aircraft when there is reasonable assurance that the separation in 7.8.2, or prescribed in accordance with 7.10, will exist when the aircraft commences take-off.

7.9.1 Separation of landing aircraft....