PDA

View Full Version : What would you do if your radio failed?

Cricket23
16th Feb 2006, 20:39
I was doing a bit of revision, and realised that apart from the following, I'm not sure what to do if my radio failed. I'll take it up with my instructor next time, but in the meantime, I'd...
1) Check the frequency
2) Check it was still switched on.
3) Check that the squelch wasn't up/down too much
4) Check the headset leads hadn't been pulled out.
5) Check the fuses.
6) Squawk 7600
Having done this on approaching the airfield I would call them at the appropriate reporting points (state that I was calling 'blind'), and enter the circuit whilst keeping a good lookout.
Have I missed something?
What would you do?
C23
PS - I must make a note of what the light-gun signals are, coz I admit I don't know them, do you?

Andy_RR
16th Feb 2006, 20:47
a few other things - not that I'm an expert!
- check another frequency?
- hand mike?
- use other sockets and PTT?
I should know this better, since I had to answer the same question for my Aus GFPT test a few weeks ago

Spitoon
16th Feb 2006, 22:08
Speaking as a controller (as well as a pilot) I think you need to be more specific on the bit about approaching the airfield. A lot depends on the class of airspace and whether you have recieved a clearance etc. If you're talking about an airfield in class G airspace without ATC you need to think about whether you have the permissions necessary (PPR and the like) but then just keep a darn good lookout and hope there's a signal square or, at the very least, a windsock!

rhovsquared
16th Feb 2006, 22:19
go down AVE.F (US NAS suggestion) Assigned, Vectored, Expected (as) Filed

Cricket23
16th Feb 2006, 22:22
To be a bit more specific as Spitoon requested.

I was thinking about class G airspace and would have already 'phoned ahead to get the weather and PPR if required.