PDA

View Full Version : NE Scotland Flying Schools/Clubs

bankjoh
6th Feb 2006, 08:43
Hi,

With the downward spiral (or should that be spin?!) of Aberdeen flying club I am now looking to other clubs in the NE Scotland area.

While I can logon and see the following flying clubs/schools (and therefore get a feeling for costs etc):

Moray
Perth
Dundee

I would appreciate any thoughts on experiences/opinions of them (eg quality of teaching, friendliness etc).

I am studying for the full ppl (a) and am finalising solo circuits so am hesitant to chuck all that time and effort away.

Thanks for any help

Genghis the Engineer
6th Feb 2006, 09:11
I had to visit Perth a few months ago for a professional look around.

My impression was very favourable, nice facilities, very well looked after aeroplanes, and instructors who took what they did seriously, clearly enjoyed their jobs, and were trying to teach their students as well as possible.

No idea about prices - that wasn't my territory, but from what I saw, I'd be happy to do my own flying there (if it wasn't for the minor inconvience that I live near London).

And as for the scenery! You lucky blighters up there! We get the (*&&**& M25!

G

egld0624
6th Feb 2006, 10:35
was in there this week; great service, very friendly and happy to share their hanger. Wonderful topography & about 1 hours drive from Edinburgh.

EG:ok:

HelenD
6th Feb 2006, 17:32
While I do not know those three flying schools I do know Highland Flying School in Inverness is very good and the airfield like Aberdeen is full ATC. What I would suggest is visit all of the posibilities and try to get a feel of the place and talk to other students there. It may also be worth enquiring about the QXC landing fee costs since they will be on top of the rest of the training, the south cost schools students end up paying arround £20 at each of the two airfields they have to land at for the QXC. I got Wick and Kirkwall for my QXC with landing fees arround £4 a piece.