PDA

View Full Version : VFR Flight following

chevvron
28th Jan 2006, 13:15
There are frequently suggestions from pilots that ATC in the UK should provide this service, without saying what exactly it entails.
I know it entails identifying traffic requesting the service, but what does ATC actually provide? Is it just proximity hazard warnings, traffic information (as per RIS) or avoiding action as per RAS? Or is it none of these, just an alerting service? How does it differ from RIS?
In ICAO Document 4444 (Air Traffic Management), it's not mentioned, as the USA does not provide ATC in exact conformity to this document, but 4444 does give guidance on the use of radar in the flight information service, and this accords approximately to what we know in the UK as RAS!
I've had over 30 years experience of providing LARS, and seen many changes to types of service (VMC Radar Advisory; IMC radar advisory; TIS and then RIS), so what exactly is flight following, can anyone define it?

Keygrip
28th Jan 2006, 14:29
The USA flight following is almost the UK RIS.

Your own transponder code, info on any aircraft that they feel worthy of comment, service up to the edge of radar then - more often than not - dumped. May get a radar handover to the next sector if the controller feels like it.

Never heard avoiding action given.

Bertie Thruster
28th Jan 2006, 14:57
chevvron. Type "UK AIC 48/2004" into Google

regards, BT

172driver
28th Jan 2006, 17:24
chevron,

From the FAA website:
TRAFFIC ADVISORIES- Advisories issued to alert pilots to other known or observed air traffic which may be in such proximity to the position or intended route of flight of their aircraft to warrant their attention. Such advisories may be based on:
a. Visual observation.
b. Observation of radar identified and nonidentified aircraft targets on an ATC radar display, or
c. Verbal reports from pilots or other facilities.