PDA

View Full Version : 757 Winglets

haughtney1
24th Jan 2006, 15:47
As a keen 757 driver, I look on with interest at the various operators about who have fitted winglets to their 757 fleets. My understanding is that there is a trade-off between fuel burn and initial capital outlay.
My questions are as follows.
1. What approximate reduction in fuel-burn is realised, with a corresponding increase in useful payload/range?
2. An approximate cost, or increase in lease rates based on present market values?
3. Is there a certain sector length that the fuel burn reduction just isnt economical enough to cover the additional costs. i.e a break-even point
4. Are there any changes in the handling characteristics of the aircraft ala increased float during the flare/crosswind sensitivity?
Thanks in advance
H:ok:

Flight Safety
24th Jan 2006, 16:12
This may help to answer some of your questions.

http://www.flug-revue.rotor.com/FRTypen/FRErstfl/FR05Erst/PR757BW.htm

haughtney1
24th Jan 2006, 17:12
Thanks Flight Safety....theres always someone on here that knows the answer:ok: ;)

XPMorten
24th Jan 2006, 17:59
I heard that if you compare two 757's one with and one without winglets,
you will see that the one with winglets burns 3% less fuel for the same weight.
However, the one without has to plan more trip fuel, and will
be heavier for the same flight, burning more. So, a total average of 5% saved.

Cheers,

M

enicalyth
24th Jan 2006, 20:02
These claims are always interesting. Boeing tell me that the 757-200 winglets will increase wingspan from 38 metres to 41 metres in round figures.

If I take the view that all they will do is reduce absolute induced drag and keep compressible drag to the same overall percentage I might as well assume that the span efficiency is the same as well, say e = 85%, and the wing area is the same.

Thus the baseline aspect ratio is 7.8 and the wingletted version is 9.2 again in round figures.