PDA

View Full Version : Pilotless A/C

David_Lid Air
11th Jan 2006, 10:18
Hi.. It bothers me that on every forum that i visit that has to do with aviation i see those threads about how surplus pilots are and that they are a dying breed.

i am a student pilot myself and hope for many years of flying in my life as a pilot, but somehow these coversations make me a little uncomfortable about the future.

what do you think from a professional viewpoint about the future of the Pilot profession?

I donīt see computers taking over in some time but still it would bee nice to hear some comments on this :)

Pirate
11th Jan 2006, 10:39
David
I'm an experienced airline captain, now working in the Unmanned Air Vehicle field. UAVs are here to stay and they are probably the most dynamic part of the aerospace industry at the moment. That being said, they will become a part of the picture, especially in the "3D" sector - dirty, dangerous and dull - but will not feature largely in the air transport world where people still understand that counter-intuitive judgements that a computer cannot make are sometimes necessary to avert disaster. I would guess - and it's only a guess - that the requirement for military combat pilots may decrease in the next generation but we forget at our peril that there is an awful lot more to aviation than engineering.
Good luck with your aspirations.

John Farley
11th Jan 2006, 11:02
Well said Pirate. Short and to the point.

Brakes...beer
11th Jan 2006, 16:06
I agree. You only have to look at the aircraft coming into service (A380, B787 etc) to see that 2-man crews will be required to fly these aircraft for decades to come. As to the way ahead in civil aviation, I would hazard a guess that some form of freight ac (although to date freight ac have been derivatives of airliners) would be the first unmanned commercial aeroplanes. Only when the public is comfortable with the practice would they get into an unmanned airliner.