PDA

View Full Version : Compression stage

powdermonkey
17th Dec 2005, 14:48
Hi technically minded people!

I need help in AGK.
I am getting confused with the compression of air.
How does a compressor increase the PRESSURE of the air.
Accelerating the air will give you more dynamic pressure, but is that not at the cost of a drop in static, therefore total pressure remains the same?

I simply am not grasping this basic principle as I am sure I am looking at it the wrong way.
Please can someone explain to a non tech person who has never changed a sparkplug how the total pressure of the air is raised?

Sorry if I am missing something very obvious, but I can't see it!!
Any help and BASIC ( think jets for big dummies) explanation woul be great.
Thank you in advance
PM

G-ANDY
17th Dec 2005, 16:12
I'm affraid I'm not too technically minded either, but took my AGK exam last week, so I should know the "rough-ish" answer.

In the compressor the air pressure increases, the temperature increases and the speed also increases. The reason Bernoulli's theory sort of goes out the window here (speed increases, therefore temp decreases), is that the air is squashed into a smaller space - giving an increase in temp and pressure, but speed is increased by the compressors by narrowing the duct (convergent) to make sure that the ever increasing pressure stays behind the compressor blades helping to prevent a stall / surge.

Hope that helps?

Andy

gas path
17th Dec 2005, 18:18
I'll have a stab at clearing it up for you:ok:

Velocity: Decreases slightly as it passes thro' the compressor stages until it reaches combustion where there is a rapid increase. The velocity comes down again as the energy is converted across the turbine stages and increases again as it passes thro' the nozzle.