PDA

View Full Version : Approach Ban ????

Fellowstudent
16th Dec 2005, 08:53
Hello everyone,

I am a fellow ATPL student. If possible could someone please clarify the following for me.

On an Approach ban, is cloud base taken into account ?? I was reading in the Aerad flight supplement what an approach ban is and it only mentioned RVR and or Visability but made no mention of cloud base.

ie if the RVR for an approach was 550m and it was reported as say 1000m, your DA is 350ft and the cloud base is 300ft could you still make an approach to land ???

Thanks a lot in advance to anyone that can help clear this up for me.

Fellowstudent.

Megaton
16th Dec 2005, 09:07
Approach ban uses RVR only. At DA/MDA it is up to you whether you can see the runway environment sufficiently to complete the approach. After 1000' RVRs are for information only ie on your approach where the RVR is initially 1000m but drops to 300m after 1000' you can continue.

FlyingForFun
16th Dec 2005, 09:10
After 1000' RVRs are for information only I thought this was after the FAF that this happens? Not sure where your 1000' comes from?

FFF
-----------------

Fellowstudent
16th Dec 2005, 09:36
Thanks Hamphisted for clearing that up for me.

Flyingforfun, I believe the 1000' refers to:

If there is no outer marker or equivalent postion then the commander, if the reported RVR is below minima, can not descend past 1000ft above AAL. If the aircraft is already past the outer marker / equivalent point or 1000' feet in the formers abscence and the reported RVR falls below minima then the aircraft can continue the approach and if suitable visual is aquired, can land perfecfly legally.

I may be wrong though as this is all pretty new to me.

Thanks again guys for your input.

Piltdown Man
17th Dec 2005, 14:12