PDA

View Full Version : Bell 430

LBKDRIVER
15th Dec 2000, 20:17
The EMS program I work for is in the market for a pair of new helicopters. We are looking at B430's, but it seems their hot weather performance drops off sharply. Our base elevation is 3300ft and we hit 35 to 40 degrees C in the summer. Does anyone have experience with 430's? What kind of EMS interiors are available? Any feed back would be greatly appreciated.
Nick

Bruce Laurin
15th Dec 2000, 20:44
Hi, My name is Bruce Laurin, I am a senior production test pilot with Bell Helicopter in Montreal Quebec. My specialty is the Bell 430 and I have had the opportunity to operate the 430 in the middle east at temp up to +50C. I can assure you that the aircraft is quite a good performer at these excsssive temp. While I was posted in the country of Bahrain for 3 month the OAT never went below +40C day or night. We had no problems at all with regards to hot climate ops. For any more detailed info call me at
450-437-6045
Bruce Laurin BHTC

whatsarunway
21st Dec 2000, 02:08
Compare the 430 with the ec155,
you may be surprised , that is unless you are closed off to anything other than bell

dont be

212man
21st Dec 2000, 04:06
Whatsarunway

I'm (genuinely)interested to know more about the 155, do you have personal experience of it?

Curious response after the one above: the 155's upper operating limit for OAT is 40 C at sea level, wouldn't be too clever in the Middle East then?

------------------
Another day in paradise

Bruce Laurin
22nd Dec 2000, 20:54
Actually the 430 is in the intermediate category, the EC 155 is in the medium category so is a bit difficult to compare them but I looked up the numbers for fun.

EC 155 IGE Hover ceiling is 6210 ft.
OGE Hover ceiling is 2800 ft.

Bell 430 IGE Hover ceiling is 11700 ft.
OGE Hover ceiling is 6200 ft.

All the above at max. gross of course.

whatsarunway
24th Dec 2000, 02:22