View Full Version : FlyBe 146

markflyer6580
1st Nov 2005, 19:09
I flew to Southhampton yesterday (31/10/2005) via a nice 146,leather seats the lot! My question is this:-as an atpl student I find it hard to see how this can be a viable way to conduct a 40 min hop,surely a dash 8 would be considerably cheaper to operate? I also noticed it was not efis equipped(from what I could see) is this not availiable on 146's or do FlyBe just have some old ones? Last thing the flight crew looked young, flight no BE174 15:35 LBA-SOU. Are there good opportunities for a command on jets at a young age with them? Cheers Mark.

ElNino
2nd Nov 2005, 10:55
it was not efis equipped

The vast majority of 146's are not EFIS. A few 146-300s were built with screens towards the end of the production run. Even these are not EFIS in the modern sense - really just replacing the ADI, HSI and some (N1, TGT, N2, Fuel gauges) engine gauges with electronic screens showing the same info. The autopilot, thrust system (which is manual only) and nav system remained the same.
Originally 146's would have had only basic VOR and ADF for navigating, but they have since been retrofitted with GPS based nav computers to allow area (but not terminal) RNAV.

The AVRO RJ, which looks no different to a 146, is EFIS equipped, has a modern AP and full autothrottle and slightly more powerful engines. It's a common rating with the 146. Don't think FlyBE have any though.

I find it hard to see how this can be a viable way to conduct a 40 min hop

That depends on the load and yield. The 146 is a very thirsty and maintenance heavy beast but presumably if the load was too much for a dash it would make sense.

do FlyBe just have some old ones

All 146's are very very old (most were built in the mid-80's). The RJ replaced the 146 for the 90's and is also out of production.

HZ123
2nd Nov 2005, 11:19