PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy a share in a cheap Light Aircraft

vincent_watts
8th Oct 2005, 19:37
Hello everyone

I am looking to buy a share in a light aircraft, can anyone help? I'd prefer if the aircraft were based at an airfield that doesn't charge landing fees, cause lets face it, thats daylight robbery!

I am a new private pilot looking to build hours. I live in a small town next to Gatwick airport, however I am willing to travel to different airfields if needed. I have seen a few aircraft in Elstree for instance, and even though thats over an hours drive from me, I'd travel there to fly.

I have looked at the 3 main websites that have aircraft shares for sale, but am posting here to see if anyone has a direct link to someone selling a share, and can perhaps point me in their direction.

Looking for C150/152/170 or Piper's etc, you know.

Hope you can help.

Vince

simonlantos
8th Oct 2005, 19:46
Been to the t......ty bar lately?

Mercenary Pilot
8th Oct 2005, 20:15
I know of a decent C172 share going at Elstree, I think the flying costs work out around £60pm with no monthly cost. I'll point him in this direction for you.

Genghis the Engineer
8th Oct 2005, 20:24
Always loads going at Popham, which would be about an hour's drive. The best bet is to drive or fly over and peruse the notice board in the clubhouse.

The cheapest you're likely to get there is a C152 share at a little over £2,000, then £25/month + £35/hr (I know of at-least one for sale at that, but there's a wide variety on the board).

Not right on your doorstep, but a super place to do your PPLing from.

G

foxmoth
8th Oct 2005, 22:54
Please check your PMs

DubTrub
8th Oct 2005, 23:49
daylight robbery!

Bless, you, Vincent, for now all airfield operators can ask you to:
a) mow all the grass runways
b) maintain the hard runways
c) pay their aerodrome managers
d) pay all the other fixed costs

etc
etc