PDA

View Full Version : Minimum Safe Altitude

night hawk 150
28th Sep 2005, 15:31
hello

could anyone tell me how i work out the minimum safe altitute by looking at my map.

im a student doing my ppl and would be glad of some advice and knowledge from you all.

Thanks in advance

Craig

scubawasp
28th Sep 2005, 15:52
You can do a Grid MORA by looking on your map. On the map the are blue numbers that tell you the higest object in that square and add 1000ft or more convient is a route MORA which is the highest object within 5NM either side on your route not forgetting the ends of your route, add 1000ft. Some people will tell you to add 300ft on top of that as any object that is less then 300ft is shown.

Mariner9
28th Sep 2005, 15:57
Assuming you're looking at a CAA Chart:

Large blue numbers mark the Maximum elevation figures for each "quadrangle" (CAA term -1/2 degree lat/long squares on the 1/2 mill chart). That shows the height AMSL of the highest known feature or terrain.

Add a 1000' safety margin to that , and you get your MSA for that quadrangle.

Of course if you're flying VFR, 500' away from any obstacle will do :ok:

High Wing Drifter
28th Sep 2005, 15:57
There are no hard and fast rules for VFR (there is for IFR). One reasonable rule is to add 1000' to the heighest obstacle within 10nm of your track (some use 5nm).

The heighest obstacle is:

* Terrain Height + 300' (because anything under 300' isn't shown on the CAA VFR charts.

* The height above the terrain of any recorded obastacles. The chart shows two figures for each obstacle: one in brackets is the actual height, the one out of brackets is the total height - the one you are usually interested in.