PDA

View Full Version : New ATPL Pilots

flying paddy
30th Aug 2005, 23:20
HI

I would like to run this past all flight instructors, and see if anyone out their agrees or has had similar expirence.
I am an instructor at a major airport and as such I have had to check out the occassional ATPL pilot for SE flying. Now I am in no way doubting their ability to operate a 737 but I have discovered that all the new pilots coming out of these so called major flight schools, (oxford, CTC etc) are sadly lacking in what I would call basic flying skills. I get the feeling that these chaps are being taught to press buttons and pass exams, and are lacking in some basic understanding. So much so that one FO was in my opinion not safe to fly, and on asked why he had done such a stupid thing, he answered that he had been told that, that was what had to do as taught at his school. If anyone has an opioion on this please continue.
Just as a side issue my thoughts are that at the moment these chaps are flying on the backs of senior Captains. The question I have is what happens when they are gone, and the cr@p hits the fan in years to come.
Flying Paddy

Say again s l o w l y
31st Aug 2005, 00:25
There are a fewthat I have met and worked with who do seem to be a bit lacking in the airmanship department.

I have heard some horror stories from Capt's about newbie F/O's but I've also seen some high time instructors/low time airline pilots do some pretty stupid things aswell.

I still don't think you can beat the experience that can be gained by working as an FI for a bit. People skills are just part of it.
I have to say that not much scares me any more!!

Maybe I'm biased because that's how I started my career.

DFC
31st Aug 2005, 01:32
What did they do that you say "he had done such a stupid thing"?

Regards,

DFC

flying paddy
31st Aug 2005, 13:28
Hi