PDA

View Full Version : First Solo- when?

nick14
20th Jul 2005, 13:40
Hi there,
I am currently traninig for a PPL at leicestershire aero club and would like to know at what point do students usually take their first solo? 10hours/ 15hrs or less?

I have been told by my instructor that i will have no problem with the flying because i have 35 launches in a viking glider so i have some previous flying experience.

Kindest regards
Nick

Genghis the Engineer
20th Jul 2005, 13:46
First answer is, probably around 15 hours for most people training regularly.

Second answer is that getting worried about it will only slow you up, just relax, enjoy the flying, and be surprised when it happens.

G

ClearedForTakeOff
20th Jul 2005, 14:03
Second answer is that getting worried about it will only slow you up, just relax, enjoy the flying, and be surprised when it happens

I currently have this problem for several reasons, one of them being that im not getting enough hands on training, in other words I have about 11 hours and no way near of getting my first solo, I wasted £££ but at least I have the hours, so I took matters onto my own hands, and I am in the process of changing training providers to a more reputable school in EGTB, where i believe i will improve.

cjhants
20th Jul 2005, 14:15
there is no race to go solo, and your FI will judge when you are ready and SAFE. remember you are flying on his/her licence.
many students are ready at about 15 hours, some take 50 or more. once you leave the ground on your own you have no choice but to land it yourself, and nobody is going to let you go solo without a very good chance you and the a/c will come down safely.
remember to get your medical done, and most clubs want you to have passed air law as well.

Shaggy Sheep Driver
20th Jul 2005, 14:26