PDA

View Full Version : Criminal Prosecutions of Flight Crew

Denning
14th Jul 2005, 05:38
Hey guys,

I am a final year law student and a PPL holder. I’m about to write a research project looking at the problems associated with a threat of possible criminal sanctions against flight crew after an accident. I’m hoping also to examine the fact that in Australia, CVR transcripts are not admissible as evidence against flight crew and whether this is/is not a

I realise that this is a controversial issue but would be interested in any views people might have on the above issues, this is not so much to argue onw way or another (as yet) but more to get peoples views either way. Any possible hints as to good sources of information would also be great help. If you prefer to PM be instead that is fine. This is just for background research but if you could at least let me know what sector of aviation/admin/safety etc you are from that would help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time,

Denning.

gaunty
14th Jul 2005, 05:44
Denning

May I suggest you try a global search on PPRuNe, see upper right, there has been much discussion on this subject in Dunnunda and elswhere.

cheers

ZK-NSJ
14th Jul 2005, 09:07
there was a case over here back in 95/96 when the ansett dash 8 crashed, not sure what the end result was but i think the pilot got off

Tutaewera
14th Jul 2005, 11:51
Yes that was quite a "watershed" case. I am a long time student of accident investigation so forgive the following sermon!