PDA

View Full Version : B737 classic Bleed Trip Off

LEM
8th Jul 2005, 08:01
If one asked you very simply if one bleed is certified to supply one Pack together with the wing antiice or not, what would you answer?

Yes?
So why in the Bleed Trip Off NNC we absolutely have to avoid icing conditions?

No?
So why in the Engine Failure NNC that is allowed?

IFixPlanes
9th Jul 2005, 08:10
Sorry, but i do not understand the Question. :uhoh:
Can you rewrite (describe) it with other words.
And BTW what is "NNC". ( i am a greesemonkey not a pilot) ;)

Ingo

Bumblebee
9th Jul 2005, 08:32
NNC - Non Normal Checklist

LEM..

my thoughts...

Firstly - when you're one engine INOP your are already on the way to landing at the nearest suitable - and if you need wing anti-icing.....you need it...you are probably not so bothered about back pressuring the duct, pack and associated stuff on the failed side.

If you have a bleed trip off the Isolation valve is in what position when the packs are in Auto? Closed? Hence Assymetric Wing de/anti-icing = not exactly desirable.

Why can't you open the Isolation valve?...might not be desirable depending on what's caused a bleed trip off to start with..?

Any of that make sense?
:8

LEM
9th Jul 2005, 15:32
Hi Bumblebee,
Thanks for your reply.

I don't see the problem in "backpressuring the duct on the failed side"...
:confused:

On the 737, in cases like this, the isolation valve is always operated indirectly, by turning one pack off.
Very simple, thus no asymmetric wing deice.

Regarding your third point, I still don't see the problem...
A bleed trips off because of excessive pressure or temperature.

Once it is closed, if you make the isolation valve open, the duct will be pressurized by the other bleed, as in the engine failed case.
What would be the harm?

Thinking about that today inflight, I concluded Boeing must have balanced the risk of losing pressurization against the risk of really needing wing antiice.