PDA

View Full Version : GNS430 for RNP5 Airways?

Sky Wave
11th May 2005, 22:10
I'm aware that any GPS system easily fulfils the accuracy requirements of RNP5, but does having a GNS430 fitted in your aircraft allow you to fly airways which are restricted to RNP5?

Wasn't sure which forum to post on so I've posted in Tech Log and Private Flying.

Cheers

SW

QSK?
11th May 2005, 23:12
Sky Wave:

I suspect you cannot just hop in your plane and fly an RNP route just because your have the required GPS or navigational capability.

Not sure what the rules are in EUR but, if they are anything like in Oz, I think you will find that before you can fly on a RNP airway both the operator and aircraft must be specifically approved and RNP training requirements set out in your Operations Manual.

I'm not an expert in this area, so others may be able to assist further

DFC
12th May 2005, 00:02
Basically when you had the modification to fit the GPS approved ther should have been an AAN which would have specified a flight manual supplement that should be added to the flight manual describing the limitations of use including if it can be used for B-RNAV operations.

Check with the people who did the mod or the CAA Airworthiness Approvals department.

There is also a yellow AIC regarding all of this.

Regards,

DFC

IO540
12th May 2005, 06:09
What does an AAN have to do with any of this, DFC???

I have to give you this though: you do have all the right CAA manuals to hand ;) Whether the info that magically emerges from them has the slightest relevance is another matter.

Sky Wave
12th May 2005, 11:40
Thanks for the replies everyone.

DFC, thanks for the information on the Yellow AIC. It was helpful.

This is the situation as I now understand it.

The UK CAA Yellow AIC has two relevant sections. They are section 7 and Section 9: (I’ll paraphrase)

7 Certification and Approval Requirements