PDA

View Full Version : Transition Altitude, Contact approaches..

coolcaptain
4th May 2005, 22:15
Hi.

I'm studying for my JAR atpls, currently holding one in Canada. From my study materials, I cannot find this information so I'm asking it here.

In the UK, where do the Flight Levels start? 3,000 ASL? I can't seem to find this answer.

Also, in the UK, is there such a thing as a contact approach? When cleared for a visual approach, must you have the field/or preceding traffic to field in sight?

Cheers.

Gargleblaster
4th May 2005, 23:02
Hi coolcaptain, must be nice to be such a cool to-be-captain :-)

Sorry, I'm not UK based, and only a poor PPL based in an country following ICAO/Jar docs rather closely.

BUT, generally the lowest available FL (or the Transition Level (TL)) depends on the pressure, see the local AIP for the procedure. Where I come from, ATIS says what the TL is.

Have no idea what a contact approach is, but when in a control zone (generally airspace D in ICAO speak) there are certain rules on what kind of separation is provided by ATC. When you're VFR, ATC will separate you from IFR flights and will separate you from other VFR flight through traffic information.

When you and the other traffic is VFR, whether you have the traffic in sight or not is YOUR problem, once ATC have given you the traffic information. You can always ask them where the traffic is of course, but the responsibility is yours.

Jezzmeister
4th May 2005, 23:52
Hi there

As far as im aware flight levels start at the height the surface is of constant atmospheric pressure (1013mb)
Im pretty sure its 500ft above the transition level; which is above the transition altitude
The transition altittude is 3000' in the uk

To be visual, two conditions have to be satisfied.
You must be in VMC conditions and maintain safe seperation from all other traffic. If not, you are flying under IFR

VMC is defined as (i quote):

Above 3000'AMSl to FL100-1500m horizontally from cloud