PDA

View Full Version : good airclubs around London?

StExupery
12th Apr 2005, 18:26
Hello everyone!

I'm a young PPL pilot licenced in France since september, and I'd like to do some flying here...

I've seen it's pretty expensive, plus I live in London and I haven't brought my car...

anyone knows a good club with competitive fares and of convenient access for a guy without a car?

I think I'll have to convert my licence to a UK issued... anyone knows how I do this?

What I'd like in a club would be to build some qualifications (night and IMC) and be able to rent a plane for WE back to france...)

(Indeed... I spend so much on the Eurostar and air fares... I would rather spend on renting a plane, even if it's more expensive and less reliable for the time schedule: at least I'd fly!!!)

thank you all for your help... :-)

Genghis the Engineer
12th Apr 2005, 18:35
Headcorn? Nice place, reasonably cheap, and next to a mainline railway station right out of London.

For that matter, Popham is further out of London, much cheaper, and has a mainline station a mile away (suggest a PM to PPruner "Irv" who instructs there.) I know of a couple of 152 shares going cheap there (£2.2k purchase, £25/mth, £35/hr) if you want details drop me a line.

If your licence is French, you'd be okay for day-VMC rental in the UK only, if it's a JAR-FCL licence you'd be only limited by your ratings and be fine flying to France.

G

BRL
12th Apr 2005, 19:06
Hi there. Type in London into the search here, make sure 'Search Titles Only and Show Results as Topics are checked and only search the Private Flying forum. Some good old threads in the results that should help you out. :)

Sleeve Wing
13th Apr 2005, 08:38
Welcome to England, St.Exupery.

Try the West London Aero Club at White Waltham near Maidenhead. 01628 823272.

Straight down the M4 and turn off down the A404M.
Or get a train to Maidenhead - then its a short taxi journey.

Safe Flying. :ok:

Genghis the Engineer
13th Apr 2005, 08:58