PDA

View Full Version : Strange noises from helicopter

Rebound
24th Mar 2005, 08:43
Im pretty new to the aviation industry, so i will shoot away and ask my question.

Yesterday while down in the V&A Waterfront watching the helicopters take off and land, a Bell Jetranger belonging to Sport Helicopters made two loud banging noises which i have not heard before. The Helicopter is a Bell Jetranger, Reg ZS-HMB.

After speaking to one of the pilots he said that the turbine was barking and was caused by the compressor...

Can anyone explain this to me. What is barking..another oldish pilot said something about stalling????

What is the cause and is it safe to fly when it does this???

Many thanks

Solid Rust Twotter
24th Mar 2005, 08:46
As long as it wasn't Berts tockity-tockity-boom-chugga-lugga noise it should be OK.:ok:

Captain Pheremone
24th Mar 2005, 08:54
Hey you know Cape Town okes.....they bark at anything!!!

It can happen if the points are not set quite right and timing is out a bit leading to the coil sending a false signal to the hollow input shaft which then makes a loud growling noise.

This is normal for anything with pistons.

OH????? sorry....a 206.....ooookkk.....If its not a piston engine and it does it more than once... send it to maintenance. Check the compressor out for wear and tear....and...don't expect me to fly it there over "the Mountain" either.

Rebound
24th Mar 2005, 09:54
Captain Pheremone, thanks for the reply.

If the helicopter has a problem why is it still getting used to fly tourists around the coast

I assume that it must be alright then.

Solid Rust Twotter
24th Mar 2005, 10:28
Anyone else getting the feeling the bait is being twitched?:rolleyes:

Journos...:yuk:

B Sousa
24th Mar 2005, 14:02
Another new Troll on Board. Welcome to the forum. Must be that now we are taking the heat off the Huey situation and dropping it on someones B206.
Anyway the term is Compressor Stall, look it up.