View Full Version : Help all UKATCers!

Deeko01
30th Jan 2001, 22:15
Hello folks,

I would like to become an ATC, but not sure if I would pass the entry qualifications because I left school at 16 so I don't have any higher education certificates. I worked for a Helicopter company in Operations and then became a Helicopter Crewman. I now work as a Operations Officer at an FBO in Glasgow.

I'm 22 on the 31st of Jan << a wee plug for my birthday!!!, I just wonder if they will notice I have had no higher education and throw out my application or will they value practical experience in Aviation as a substitute, any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
30th Jan 2001, 22:58
Deek... there isn't anyone on here who can answer your question. The way to find out if you qualify to apply for a position with NATS is to obtain details of the qualifactions required from NATS and see if you fit the bill. Things may have changed but in earlier years they wanted either the correct educational requirements OR recent aircrew (pilot/nav) or ATC experience.

Of course, anyone can undertake a training course at their own expense to obtain an ATC Licence but they may not get employment with NATS..

Good luck..

Gonzo
30th Jan 2001, 23:11
Deeko01.

If I recall, the literature calls for you to have STUDIED A-Levels and not PASSED them.I applied half way through mine and I was accepted on the strength of my predicted grades, so they may be flexible.

Good luck.

Gonzo

5milesbaby
31st Jan 2001, 00:33
Gonzo - I agree. I also applied before I finished my A-levels, and was told the grades weren't important anyway. (As showed, as I didn't do too well, but still got the job 3 years later) Deeko01, you still have to have proof of further education, be it A-levels or BTEC etc.

optigan1
31st Jan 2001, 01:50
Deeko,