View Full Version : Quality of ATC in different contrys?

AIRLIFT
29th Nov 2000, 19:18
As a charter pilot I have flown on both sides of the pound and was wandering why is it so hard for the Toronto ATC to do the job as good as in Manchester or Gatwick. It realy gets to me to be holding 50 nm from the airport on a clear day. :mad:

How is it that In the UK or even places in the US of A like FLL for instence that they are able to handle more traffic in a smaler airspace with better facility. I know that rules of seperation are different on both sides of the atlantic. But is it too much to ask to revise those rules so it would be better for every body.

Your comments are welcomed..... :)

yakkity
30th Nov 2000, 12:53
Airlift , maybe one reason could be that Toronto handles a helluva lot more traffic than either of the other places.
When you say standard, what exactly do you mean.Have you had more incidents to the west of the pond than to the East and What I would like to know is what difference the clear sky makes???

LoLevel
30th Nov 2000, 18:17
Why does an apple taste different to an Orange?? They are both a round piece of fruit arent they?

That is what you are trying to compare after all charter pilot. Consider some of the possible variables:

traffic density, mix of acft types (wake turb, closing speeds), effect of terrain and subsequent distances for IAF, distance between parallel runways (SIMOPS,IVA,etc.), high speed exits?(extra spacing needed), full length taxiiways? Military airspace?,airlines schedules (dont get me going on that gem (airport FULL -- airport EMPTY,airport FULL -- airport EMPTY), the lsits and reasons are endless.

As for can we make the procedures the same? Man I widh we could do that just in one city or one country let alone inthe whole world. ICAO is supposed to do that, it has the same rate of change as every other part of the UN.