PDA

View Full Version : Flight Computers

markham320
8th Nov 2004, 17:21
Hello,

I am a student pilot and about to start using flight computers. I have a choice between Student E6-B, the CRP-1 or the CRP-5 flight computers.

I would like to get a good computer, with a good price, and provides everything for the PPL (possibly making it as easy as possible for my calculations).

Which FC do you recommend?

Thanks,

markham320

Ian_Wannabe
8th Nov 2004, 17:54
Hey man hows it going - I've only used the CPR1 and I can tell you that its been perfectly fine for my training, everything is clear and its smaller than some others that Ive seen which is always handy when in the cockpit. The instruction manual is a bit awful but I find that its best to learn your computer by actually trying to work out calculations as if you were going on a flight...

They're the ones that transair etc choose with their packages, I assume this is because its affordable?

Just my opinion with what I've used, I hope this helps!

Ian

redsnail
8th Nov 2004, 19:22
If you intend to go onto the ATPL theory, get the CRP 5. If you don't, then either the CRP 1 or the E6B. (I haven't used the E6B, I have used the CRP 1)

FlyingForFun
8th Nov 2004, 20:28
Assuming you are in the UK.....

I can't speak for other instructors, but I used a CRP-1 for my PPL and a CRP-5 for my ATPL exams - the two are almost identical. I've seen E6Bs, but I've never actually used one. If a student comes to me with a question about a CRP-1 the chances are I'll know the answer. A question about an E6B, though, and it's unlikely I'll be able to help without reading the manual... and I may or may not have time to do that.

So my answer would be the CRP-5 if you have any thoughts of ever becoming a commercial pilot, or the CRP-1 otherwise. Stay away from the E6B - not because it's inferior (it may or may not be, I don't know) but because your instructor might not be as conversant with it if you have problems.

FFF
---------------