PDA

View Full Version : London Military ATC

F-5DRIVER
9th Sep 2001, 13:33
I have been flying charter in and out of Newcastle for two years now. Yesterday, for the first time, after taking off from Newcastle and changing freq to London Military I have been requested " What type of service do you like ?". I was caught by surprise! Can a British controller please explain what did they mean?

Spoonbill
9th Sep 2001, 14:11
Hello F5, in the UK, when flying outside controlled airspace, there are two types of radar service available: Radar Advisory Service, (RAS), and Radar Information Service, (RIS).
RAS is available only to aircraft flying IFR, and the controller will provide you with avoiding action, when necessary, against other traffic. Under RAS you must not change heading or level without the agreement of the controller.
RIS is available to all aircraft, IFR or VFR, and the controller will pass information
on other aircraft, and may offer vectors - but it is not mandatory to comply.
Both radar services, especially RIS are only available subject to controller work load.
Basically, if you accept a RAS, the atco is responsible for ensuring that standard separation is applied, under RIS the pilot has this responsiblity.
Flying out of Newcastle, outside controlled airspace, you are flying in an area of intense military and civillian activity, so a RAS may be the best option. :)

F-5DRIVER
9th Sep 2001, 19:52
Spoonbill, thanks for the detailed explanation. I am going to post it to my company's dispatch so everybody know about!

Whipping Boy's SATCO
9th Sep 2001, 20:38
Try these links
http://www.chirp.co.uk/library/FocusWinter2000/FocusWinter2000.htm
http://www.raf.mod.uk/ifs/mcasd_lars.html

chiglet
9th Sep 2001, 22:07
F5,