PDA

View Full Version : RIS/FIS

Cra5h
13th Aug 2000, 13:49
Hello Again,

What are the main diferences between FIS/RIS? I know RIS just alerts a pilot of traffic in his area, its speed, height, direction (if able) but what exactly does FIS do?

Thanks a lot,

Me.

------------------
Sorry If this seems a stupid question, I am only learning {VBG}

Lew Ton
13th Aug 2000, 14:40
It's not a stupid question, we all have to learn sometime. Some of us still are!

FIS - Flight Information Service, a non-radar service. Can mean many things but usually taking to be providing advice and information usueful to the safe conduct of the flight, e.g., weather info, but also proximity warnings. When you have info that two aircraft are in the same area you warn them of each other. Obviously this does not apply when you are suppose to separate them!

RIS - Radar Information Service. You identify the traffic and then pass him (or her!) radar derived traffic information on other traffic. It is then up to the pilot to initiate any avoiding action. (I won't get into the latest 'Duty of Care' debate! :) ) You could also provide FIS to acft under a RIS, i.e., you might have information on other traffic that you cannot see on radar.

RAS - Radar Advisory Service. You identify the traffic and then attempt to provide standard radar separation on unknowns that you can see. Not easy in my neck of the woods!

A very brief explanation :)

Good luck!

Cra5h
13th Aug 2000, 15:14
Right got that sorted, but who would offer a service like FIS? It would have to be a tower or something like that because if it was an APP the could give RIS. Or is it really just for people flying over say Mid Wales where it is more fixes than airports.
http://www.pprune.org/ubb/NonCGI/confused.gif
Thanks a lot again
Me :)

------------------
Sorry If this seems a stupid question, I am only learning {VBG}

Bright-Ling
13th Aug 2000, 21:29