PDA

View Full Version : Training advice for the older lady

class a
1st Aug 2000, 02:03
I am 38 years old and thinking of a change of career I have always thought of one day becoming an air traffic contoller.Is this possible at my age ? is sponsership avilable ? can I self finance it ? or am i just living in dream land ?

class a
1st Aug 2000, 10:06
thanks for the reply yes i am in the uk unfortuntly i have no ptrevious aviation experience. A friend said it might be possible to start as a air ground contoller to build some experience i live in the oxford area does anyone think this is a good idea and what airfields to try

class a
1st Aug 2000, 10:11
sorry about the spelling its to early in the morning

ATCO Two
1st Aug 2000, 20:59
Hi class a,

Why not aim slightly higher and consider being a FISO (A). (Flight Information Service Officer Aerodromes) Kidlington are Air Traffic Control on weekdays, but FISO at weekends. Why not begin your enquiries there? Speak to Alison the SATCO. For ATC you have to have passed an approved course nowadays (supplied by SERCo at Bailbrook College Bath, or NATS at College of ATC Bournemouth Airport). Depending on the ratings you aspire to, this could be very expensive without a sponsor (probably c£20K upwards) and no guarantee of a job. Feel free to e-mail me for any further information.

ojt...aye
6th Aug 2000, 04:44
hi there older lady ...good luck with it whatever happens ......but i did smile when i saw your profile listed your occupation as pilot ....although you say you have no previous aviation experience .heheh

Adamant
11th Aug 2000, 00:08
class a