PDA

View Full Version : How IVSI works?

JABBARA
26th Oct 2004, 22:39
If the Inertial refrence system fails, does the IVSI work?

To the best of my knowledge (somehow this is a guess), In the case of IRS failure, it works like a conventional VSI (with lag in the indications up to 6 seconds) without instantaneous trend indication. IRS input is only fed for immediate trend indication but then the system works as relying on the rate of change of ambient pressure.

Well, although I am an SIM instructor on B737 EFIS/NG, there is no option among the snags (such as Total Static Block) which I can try this in SIM. No Boeing Document (including AOMs) give a clear explanation about this either.

What do you guys think all about this?

Ka8 Flyer
27th Oct 2004, 05:05
Hi Jabbara,

don't know 'bout the 37, but on the 767 you need both the IRS and ADC input for the IVSI to fuction. Losing either one will make it inop.

Regards,

Mark

JABBARA
27th Oct 2004, 22:26
Thank you Ka8 Flyer,

It is very likely that B737 IVSI works in the same way.

But I wonder how did you come to this conclusion?

thanks

Ka8 Flyer
28th Oct 2004, 17:34
Jabbara,

it was an instructor who told me. He demonstrated it in the sim.
We were doing the blocked pitot/static scenario.

Regards,

Mark

alexban
28th Oct 2004, 18:45
the VSI takes all the inputs from IRS's .It will function correctly in case of blocked pitot/static sys,and it will be u/s in case of IRS failure.
Try to close the IRS's and see what happens (in the sim ,of course ;) )
Brgds alex

JABBARA
28th Oct 2004, 19:38
Thank you again Mark and Alex.

Alex,

it is smart to switch off IRS and see what happens; I will try it at next session (soon). If I observe otherwse, I will revive this thread again.

ridvan
:ok:

Ka8 Flyer
28th Oct 2004, 21:06
Alex,

I don't think the IVSI will work with only IRS input! Air data is definetely required!

If you only used IRS, the VSI would drift over time (just as GS/position do!)