PDA

View Full Version : SFVR. HEATHROW. C152.

FLY BY NIGHT
17th Jul 2000, 12:56
I'll be making a trip from Gloucester to Biggin at the end of the week. I'd like to make the trip through the Heathrow zone for reasons of speed and experience.
I am a flying instructor and will have a student with me. From what I understand, we will be let through at the discretion of ATC. So. Do I plan the trip through, the trip around or as I guess the answer is going to be, both.
The prefered routing would be Denham-Fairoak's between the VOR's.
What are my chances? Any calls I could make before departing?
Thanks for your help. David

ATCO Two
17th Jul 2000, 23:21
Hi David,

As a Heathrow SVFR Controller, I'm very surprised that as a flying instructor you are comtemplating a routeing from EGLD to EGTF direct. If you look at a map you will see that such a routeing takes you about four miles West of EGLL; what do you want us to do? Stop all departures on Westerlies or all arrivals on Easterlies? And which two VORs do you mean?