PDA

View Full Version : Occupational injuries

sneetch
15th Oct 2004, 10:33
Hi all,
I've been flying for a couple of years, during which time I have amassed a whooping 200 hours, all R22. Recently I've started to have leg problems which may or may not be associated with the
R22s extremely comfortable 'Lazyboy' like seating.:hmm:

This type of thing has to be common among helicopter pilots. Do any of you guys and gals suffer needlessly at the hands of not so comfy heli design, or just what sitting in one restricted posture for hours on end will do to the body?

Note: Absence of drink holder in cockpit does not constitute an occupational hazard.

Ascend Charlie
15th Oct 2004, 11:05
Where to start? I am a tall person, so people with duck's disease* will not have these problems.

Huey: hunched down to left to reach collective, head tilted up to see over panel, bounced up and down at 2 per rev = back and neck problems, specially if you wear a helmet.
Sore knuckles from trying to point something out to Bloggs and hitting the window, which is too close.

R22 - instructor's side, get a permanent glitch in the left leg muscle, holding it away from the collective. Was tempted to make a foam rubber block with a velcro strap to wrap around my left knee and prop it against the window frame for nav trips. Also get bruise in thumb from pressing that skinny little pointy intercom button whilst quacking at Bloggs.
Sore backside, sitting on point of bum with knees so far up. No thigh support.

B47 - scars above left eyebrow from forgetting where the door frame is on exit.

B206 - crick in neck from bending down to see out side window when drop window is closed - the top of the frame is right at eye level

A109 - permanent bruise outside left knee from that rotten nose steering lock. Left seat, same as r22, holding knee away from collective when duals fitted.

S76 - no complaints, huge legroom and comfy seat.

* duck's disease = your @ss is too close to the ground

Col