View Full Version : Employment in the UK as an ATC Officer

splir
13th Oct 2004, 15:26
Just a question to the members of this forum!

I am an ATC officer from Greece with current Tower, Approach and ACC licences.

I would like to explore potential employment opportunities in the UK and work as a NATS ATC officer. I would like to know if my current licences (ICAO) already held are recognised in the UK and if not what course of action I have to follow in order to become UK-CAA approved.

Thanks for your valuable feedback and advice. :ok:

magicarpet
14th Oct 2004, 15:56
Go to www.caa.co.uk and search for ATSIN No 38, this explains it.

Despite the new regulations, I doubt whether NATS, the UK's main ATS provider, would let anyone from another ATS provider, let alone another European state commence on the job training at a unit without at least a short spell of assessment at the college first. And don't forget that NATS controllers are "mobile" which means you could end up anywhere between Aberdeen and Southampton. Unless you work at Athens of course, in which case you can expect to be sent to Heathrow or the en route centre on the south coast. Who would swap the Mediterranean for Hounslow? Also you can say goodbye to at least one of your ratings. Company policy is rapidly separating aerodrome units from their approach and area colleagues.

Best advice is to phone up and ask!

Spitoon
15th Oct 2004, 21:34
What's it to do with NATS?

niknak
16th Oct 2004, 23:27
You will be required by he UK CAA to undertake an "Assesment of Prior Competence", which requires you to attend a one or two day course to demonstrate your practical, written and oral skills.

It involves, several simulator sessions, at least one oral board, and several written tests.

Depending on your performance and test scores, you will be informed on what is required in order for yo to obtain a UK CAA ATC Licence.