PDA

View Full Version : LHR LGW Diversions

Father Charles Pawnee
1st Mar 2001, 15:29
Any CCF controllers care to comment on this one? A company plans all its aircraft with LHR destination and LGW as alternate. Will LGW accept these aircraft when the delays prevent an approach to LHR?What about LGW traffic diverting to LHR, is that an option?

eyeinthesky
1st Mar 2001, 16:48
First point is that to plan LHR/LGW as alternates to each other seems a bit daft. If the weather's bad at one it's likely to be bad at the other as well. Try somewhere further away, like BB/CC.

If you must have LGW/LHR as alternate then I suppose the ultimate answer is that a diversion should always be accepted up until the airport is full. Be aware however that BAA might have other ideas about what can and can't land, especially at LHR. I have had a lot of experience of the other airports around London turning traffic away because they get full (like when KK runway was blocked with a BAL 767 in December). I have also heard of flights being allowed to land at LHR but then been unable to get a runway slot (controlled by BAA, not ATC) for departure. Admittedly this was an ambulance flight inbound which was not an ambulance flight for departure and had to wait a few hours/days to be allowed out, even though ATC could easily accommodate it.

Beyond, that, I'm sure there are other contributors better qualified than me to comment further.

------------------
"Take-off is optional, Landing is mandatory"

Take 5
1st Mar 2001, 17:30
As an aside but still to do with alternates..had a VIR coming back from the US that informed me that he was changing his alternate to 27L. I tried to clarify this and he stated his "destination was EGLL 27R and his alternate was now EGLL 27L" Sounded fishy to me so I left it at "Roger" Any ideas on the legality of this ? T5

static
1st Mar 2001, 22:32