PDA

View Full Version : VS Flight Deck Policy

BWBriscoe
4th Sep 2004, 22:08
What is Virgin Atlantic's policy on allowing people to sit on the cockpit jumpseat during their flights?

I was on the top deck of one of their 744 flights to LAS last week and 2 mothers of the cabin crew sat in the flight deck for the duration of the entire flight. I thought the new rules said you had to hold a valid pilots licence and be an airline employee??

BWB

srjumbo
4th Sep 2004, 22:14
Really? I thought there was a curtain between the passengers and the flight deck door or are you one sad git who spends their entire time trying to get a look at what the pilots are doing.
How do you know they were mothers? Did they have stickers on the back of their heads.

BWBriscoe
4th Sep 2004, 22:49
Excuse me but I'm actually a commercial airline pilot, however I do not work for VS thats why I asked. There was no need to be rude.

It was quite obvious that they stayed in the flight deck, as they did make quite a fuss about going in and out.

I knew they were mothers cos I heard one of the cabin crew introduce them to another cabin crew member!

It's about time some so called 'professionals' actually showed some respect for other professionals instead of acting like spoilt children and just writing abusive posts.

BWB

NigelOnDraft
7th Sep 2004, 19:40
Excuse me but I'm actually a commercial airline pilot Without being rude, maybe you could "de-identify" your post somewhat. By doing so you may be protecting your fellow commercial pilots who might have been "stretching" some rules to get people to, errr, "a destination".

NoD

BWBriscoe
8th Sep 2004, 08:30
If it is true then I believe it's more of a 'break' than a 'stretch' in the rules.

I don't work for VS, I was just on their flight as my company couldn't get me back, and I am grateful that they let me on (and they put me in Premium!).

BWB

catchup
8th Sep 2004, 08:54
Those US and UK rules show how hysteric this thread meanwhile went.

regards