PDA

View Full Version : boys who feel self conscious with female instructors

azzie
10th Mar 2000, 01:48
Advice required please.

As a female student I felt more comfortable with female instructors and very self conscious with male instructors. i got over it eventually but my problem is this....

Now that I am an instructor I find that there are certain guys who feel REALLY self conscious flying with me. At the extreme I had one guy who just looked so embarrassed whenever I asked him to demo something on a check flight. Most of it went well, but he did the most atrocious forced landing I've ever seen....culminating in an almost-stall-in-the-turn at low level before i saved it. Anyway, since he wanted to take his friends out for a flight, I said that I was happy with most of his flying but that I wanted to spend a session just going over forced landings. Anyway, he's never come back. I could tell he was really embarrassed and self conscious the whole time and I tried to put him at ease...i didn't yell at him or talk to him sarcastically when he screwed up at all. But he's never returned to either do another flight or to take his friends. I'm kind of confused as to how to approach these guys who obviously feel embarrassed to fly with me, and maybe I should ask if they'd rather fly with a guy. However, I'd rather figure out how to make them feel less embarrassed rather than give them to someone else simply because I don't know how to handle the situation.

If anyone has any suggestions - sensible ones only please! - then i would be really grateful. I know guys would experience this with female students, so how do you make them feel better?

Please can everyone refrain from making dirty comments too as I'm deadly serious about this problem...

Thanks in advance

------------------
"if there is no peril in the fight, there is no glory in the triumph"

Artificial Horizon
10th Mar 2000, 02:07
Azzie,