PDA

View Full Version : In Flight Navigation techniques

Teroc
25th Jun 1999, 12:18
Hi all,
Does anyone have a really nice simple easy way of in flight vfr navigation / ded reckoning / off course corrections etc ?..im fairly new to all this and between flying the plane, monitoring the instruments, checking for traffic, noisy cramped cockpit / squeeling radio etc i sometimes find it hard to remember what 7 x 8 is never mind trying to remember and implement the 1 in 60 rule / ratio method / revised etas etc etc...arrghhh !! help !!!
So c'mon all you oul grizzled 20 million hour instructors / flyers :) ...how do you all do it and still stay up :)

Wee Weasley Welshman
25th Jun 1999, 23:06
Wait 'till you're half way onthe leg - assess the angle off and double it to correct. Its cheap and easy but it works every time and on the legs you fly on the skilltest it is good enough. You should also revise your ETA at the same time. Do this in one go with a reasonable degree of accuracy and that'll be good enough for the examiner.

Come on then - shoot me down! WWW

DB6
26th Jun 1999, 02:52
As WWW says, that's the easiest way for me too - forget trying to do sums in the head - and the easiest way to estimate your angle off track is to draw a couple of lines either side of track, 10 degrees off, radiating out from your departure point and destination. Then all you have to do is look over the side at your halfway point, see where you are with respect to your track and 10 degree lines and double it etc, etc. Also of course your ETA is revised by twice whatever the difference is at the halfway point.

Charlie Foxtrot India
26th Jun 1999, 07:49
The 1:60 rule works great on the ground.
In the sky, well if someone is far enough off track to make a 1:60 necessary then chances are they can't hold a heading well enough to make the calculation worthwhile. While they have their head down trying to work it out...whoops, there goes another 10 degrees...