View Full Version : Instructing Qualifications

captainmacuk
23rd Jun 2001, 03:05
Hi people,
I just wanted to find out what exams at commercial level and above do you need to pass to get onto an instructors course,

eg, do you just need to pass the nav and tech exams for the commercial and ATPL or do you need to pass all the theory exams for both,

would like to make a career out of instructing anything above would be amazing
(too competitive up in airline world)

Any instuctors or former instructors have any advise for 18yr old PPL
Cheers guys

Speak to you later

L J R
23rd Jun 2001, 15:16
The following is only MY OPINION of instructing.

To be comfortable as an instructor, I believe that you need to be very experienced [ie 5+ years of constant flying]. I know a lot of Instructors who will disagree, - fine.

As an 18 year old, you do not have the experience to talk the truth under pressure while flying accurately and providing confidence to another trainee pilot.

I am first to acknowledge that as a 38 year old, I cannot fully relate to an 18 year old student, and therefore you may, but after 20 odd years of flying I can admit that I am still learning.

Instructing is relating 50% experience 50% books/syllabus, while always striving for 100% accuracy.

You may be a good pilot - develop that further.

Good luck......

Night Rider
23rd Jun 2001, 16:34
Captainmasuk,

Being a Flying Instructor is a very enjoyable and rewarding occupation. It is, clearly, a very skillful task, but unfortunately this is not generally reflected in the jobs salary. In order to make a living out of instructing you really need to be working at one of the "major" schools, preferably as a commercial instructor. What L J R is saying is basically correct - to become a commercial flying instructor you need quite a lot of experience. To gain this you may have to work as a PPL instructor for "peanuts" for a few years so be prepared for that.