View Full Version : Airways clearances

GT
18th Jun 2001, 18:20
As a Flying Instructor, I thought I'd try this forum first as I know what a bright bunch we are! I hope you'll all excuse my ignorance regarding the following query.

I recently passed my IR test. The flight started from a controlled aerodrome (Leeds Bradford actually) so I was given my airways/class A clearance by the Leeds approach controller. He then handed me over to the class A controller at Manchester Control. Nice and easy!

However, if I want to fly IFR from an uncontrolled aerodrome, straight into the airways, what is the procedure for obtaining my airways clearance? The uncontrolled aerodome won't be able to give it to me (air-ground only). Do I contact the class A controller directly, off my own bat, and if so which of the many frequencies that they seem to have would I use? Old hands tell me years ago they used to contact London Information and they would get the necessary clearance - is this still the case? Hoping for some guidance.

Regards, a slightly baffled GT.

Night Rider
18th Jun 2001, 18:37
Hi there GT,

What you need to do is call the approach/radar controller at an airfield (civil or military) close to your departure point. For example, taking off from Wellesbourne(EGBW) for an airways flight a pilot could call Birmingham(EGBB) Approach once airbourne. The EGBB APP controller would be in contact with the airways controller and could get an Airways Joining Clearance.

The main thing to remember in this situation is to STAY OUT OF CAS UNTIL YOU HAVE BEEN CLEARED TO ENTER.

Happy flying...

------------------
Pull back and the houses get smaller - pull back a bit more and the houses get bigger!

JuicyLucy
18th Jun 2001, 23:54
London Info is still the way to do it, unless you are already talking to an approach unit. The trouble with free callers on approach unit freqs. is you tend to be ignored if its busy - certainly true in the SE of England.