PDA

View Full Version : Training for PPL

turbo911boy
15th Jun 2004, 15:22
Can someone help me! I am new to the scene and along with my wife and brother want to do our PPL abroad in 3 weeks (intense course). Having read 100's of adverts for USA schools etc where do we start?

Can you recommend any long established schools that provide the training IN 21 DAYS (subject offcourse to our skills) rather than a longer 'get your wallet out' time and has good accomodation (we dont mind paying a decent rate)

Thanks guys and girls! :ok:

FNG
15th Jun 2004, 16:34
Try searching these fora using search terms such as "USA" and "training in Florida". NB the Visa rules (details at the top of the page). As you appreciate, there can be no guarantee of completing the PPL course in 21 days. What's the rush?

TonyR
15th Jun 2004, 16:59
Could I suggest that you all do about 10 hours in the UK before you go to the US, this will get you all used to the aircraft etc.

There are many schools in the US but remember you can be robbed there just as well as here.

I met a young lady in florida in 2003 and she had run out of her paid hours and was having to find another $2,000 to finish. You must find out how much each extra hour will cost, including the instructor (they PAY their instructors) and accommodation if included in the deal.

Best of luck

Tony

PS. IMOP it takes hours + years to become a pilot and sometimes the best fun is learning at a nice friendly school or club.

Too many PPLs never continue after geting the licence because they don't know why they learned to fly

Flyin'Dutch'
15th Jun 2004, 17:16
Naples Air Centre in, you guessed that right, Naples Florida did me proud in January.

One hears rarely a bad thing about them and there are tons of folk on here that have been to them time and time again for training of different sorts from JAA PPLs to FAA CPL/IRs.

FD

foxmoth
15th Jun 2004, 17:30