PDA

View Full Version : visual check

decmax
4th Sep 2000, 14:29
I am very new to instructing, so bear with me, when i was training, and building hours, it was a habit to refuel the aircraft after every sortie, [within reason]. My instructing so far has consisted of trial leasons, and i do a visual inspection of the fuel before each flight. my question is this, when say a C-152 has flown, two and a half hours,and you look in the tanks and the fuel is bellow tabs, but you can just see it sploshing around [cause the lights rubbish] how much fuel is in there? are you going to look over cautious,knowing that by the numbers, you have at least an hour of safe flying, and you have a half hour, trial leason thats waiting to get airborne, as i said i'm very green so would welcome some input, cheers, max.

Pigs Might Fly
4th Sep 2000, 15:13
The best thing to use is a dipstick that has been calibrated to the tanks on that particular aircraft. There are C152's around with long range tanks that can apear the same as any other C152 so it's important to use that aircraft's dipstick.

TWINCOMM
4th Sep 2000, 16:25
Why don't you get into the habit of being present when the aircraft are being refuelled, that way you will be able to correlate visual indications with fuel volumes required to top off the tanks.

Anyway why is it a problem to get the aircraft fuelled if you are not sure?.

At the end of the day it's your licence and future on the line if it goes wrong. The CAA will not accept the argument that the CFI said it was OK.

If you are new to the game, the CFI should be encouraging a safe approach until you are happy with a quick look that tells YOU its OK.

------------------
TwinComm

Oleo
5th Sep 2000, 04:17
Trying to judge the level of the gas by peering into the tank is notoriously unreliable and prone to visual illusions.

As suggested, best thing is to use a calibrated dipstick or err on the side or caution.