PDA

View Full Version : Cathay or Qantas; Aviation Degree or Diploma?

Jimmy89
30th May 2004, 01:05
Hello everyone,

I would like to have some advice from anyone who knows please. I am currently a student in Australia, aiming to be an airline pilot for Cathay Pacific or Qantas. I have checked with various flying schools including universities. I am not sure which one to choose, the university courses go for 3 years and they told me that an aviation degree is highly desired by airlines while the flying schools which offer diplomas told me it's a waste of time while it only takes me 1 year to gain all my licenses and an advanced diploma and I am able to use those 2 extra years as years to gain hours ready for airline employment. Others have told me to get a non-aviation related degree. Does anyone have some advice on which is better? Going to a university for 3 years? Or go to a flying school for 1 year? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for your time!

Many Thanks,

Jimmy Wang

redsnail
30th May 2004, 12:59
At this point in time Qantas and Cathay Pacific do not require a degree to join either company as a pilot. I could say "end of story" but I won't.
The diploma that people talk about is a glorified formalisation of the CASA exams you have to do. Remember, it's the CASA exams that count for your licence. Nothing else.

If you have to get something, get the diploma through tech.
If you really want a degree and nothing wrong with that, you can either get an aviation degree or something else. As many folk have found out in Oz, an aviation degree won't be much use unless you go into aviation. However, if **** happens and you lose your job or medical etc, at least you have a formal qualification IF you select another degree.

Naturally the universities have told you that airlines like degrees, of course they're going to say that. What the uni's didn't say is that the airlines like any degree. One in science/technology is more desirable than eg fine arts.