PDA

View Full Version : Reality Check!

Ginge_One
3rd May 2004, 20:45
I finished uni a year ago and have sat behind a desk since, wishing I was sat in an aeroplane.

I’ve been an instructor on an Air Cadet VGS for quite a few years and really enjoy it. I would love to do it full time and have been seriously thinking about topping up a PPL and doing an instructors rating, with the view of making a career out of it.

However, I’ve seen quite a few negative comments on this forum about the working conditions and prospects for career instructors. Is this the case for an unlucky few, or is it the norm for the whole of the industry?

I know that no job is secure in this world, especially in the aviation world. But I guess the question is, am I in a dream world thinking I can make a career as an instructor, as well as supporting a family (some years down the line) and living a comfortable life style? If not, it would be great to hear some encouraging stories that ended happily ever after.

SLFguy
4th May 2004, 13:11
I know that no job is secure in this world, especially in the aviation world. But I guess the question is, am I in a dream world thinking I can make a career as an instructor, as well as supporting a family (some years down the line) and living a comfortable life style?

I'm not a pilot but I am 45 and was unfortunate enough not not 'go for it' when I was younger.

You can very easily turn your dream into reality - just take your obvious desire, couple it to your talent and work hard.

Good luck.

Raw Data
4th May 2004, 13:12
am I in a dream world thinking I can make a career as an instructor, as well as supporting a family (some years down the line) and living a comfortable life style?

YES.

IRRenewal
4th May 2004, 17:18
YES.