PDA

View Full Version : Private Flying Renumeration?

PAUL101
25th Apr 2004, 13:15
Under JAA-FCL PPL(A) rules can anyone tell me what a defintion of renumeration means. Specifically, in LASORs Sect A Appendix F, P63 it states, '...... are to act, but not for renumeration, as pilot in command.'

I expect this has been answered many times before, as I am new to PPrune grateful for any definition. Eg friends have stated that a PPL (A) can fly passengers and split the cost evenly amongst ALL those onboard including PIC - is this correct? Ie if I am PIC with 3 POB and having obtained agreement! I pay 33 percent.

Many thanks for helpful responses.

BEagle
25th Apr 2004, 14:34
Yes - that's as I see it. But you cannot advertise such flights generally; perhaps a note on the clubroom noticeboard stating "Anyone interested in flying to XXXX and sharing costs" would be OK - but "**** Planes fly you where you want to go. Contact nnn nnnnn for more info" wouldn't.

In the UK there is a very thin line between cost sharing and illegal public transport or illegal aerial work. The CAA are happy with cost sharing intelligently applied - but rightly very harsh on illegal public transport!

bookworm
25th Apr 2004, 15:00
The ANO's Article 130 is the definitive text on this.

Generally speaking, a private flight is one for which no valuable consideration is given or promised in respect of the flight. Note that this doesn't necessarily mean that just you, the pilot, can't take remuneration. No one can.

There are a number of permitted exceptions to this:

1) Hiring an aircraft: while the aircraft must be on a PT C of A, the flight is classed as private for other purposes.

2) Reimbursement of costs for flying displays, races

3) Charity flights with the permission of the CAA (general permission is laid out in an AIC)