PDA

View Full Version : Would you do it all again?

helispeed99
20th Apr 2004, 13:17
A general question for all you ATCOs, I recently spoke to a very friendly chappy from WD who renewed my interest in ATC, I'm a blender pilot at the moment but I'm seriously considering a change. So the questions are this.. Do you enjoy your work? What are the hours/pay/politics like? and what are the promotion oppurtunities like? As i'm still pretty young!

Really will appreciate the feed back, so thank you in advance!:ok:

Oh and anyone who knows the company call sign probably best not to tell the guys at work i'm looking elsewhwere, cheers!;)

FWA NATCA
20th Apr 2004, 14:09
Note this is for comparison purposes to my brothers in the UK.

Yes, I throughly enjoy being a Air Traffic Controller and without a doubt I would do it again. Our jobs are extremely challenging, fast paced, no two days are alike, and just about every day you will encounter a new situation that will draw on your experience, and knowledge. Sequencing military fighters, commercial airlines, and commuters behind and with small slow flying aircraft is what makes my job both interesting and challenging, then throw in the occasional emergency to spice things up a notch.

Pay - In the US, it ranges from $47K to almost $100K. Your pay is based upon the complexity rating, and traffic denisty of the facility that you work at.

Hours - I work at a 24 hour facility, my first two days are 1345 - 2145, the next two are 0600 - 1400, and my last day can be another day shift or a midnight shift.

Promotion Potential - It varies, at this time, the FAA is moving very few if any controllers around. Other years you can move up into buiser more complex facilities with realitive ease.

Politics - Internally it varies with facility, but it is your choice to get caught up in it. Externally, the politics again varies with who ever is in office, and when it comes to dealing with politicians you can't afford to not become involved.

Mike