PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Group Ownership

Bellerophon
10th Apr 2004, 17:41
Having not flown in anything remotely interesting for several months now, my interest in light aircraft flying was recently rekindled when I was taken up for a flight by a friend who owns a part share in the aircraft concerned.

It so happens that a share in this syndicate may well be coming up for sale, and if it does, then I am sorely tempted to make an offer for it.

I have no previous experience of being part of a syndicate, but I imagine there are several on this forum who do.

I was wondering if any of you who have experience of owning a share in an aircraft might be kind enough to offer me some advice about joining a syndicate.

I'm not really asking for financial advice; though that is always welcome; rather I'm looking for advice on what distinguishes a good syndicate from a poor one, how a good syndicate is structured, what sort of rules are necessary, how many members should there be, what experience levels should they have, how should the aircraft be booked, and particularly what unexpected problems you may have encountered.

All the things that you, with the benefit of hindsight and experience, would now look for, if you were to buy into another syndicate.

In other words, the advice you wish someone had given you before you bought into your first syndicate!

Regards

Bellerophon

Fuji Abound
10th Apr 2004, 18:35
Financial

Is there a fund for engine prop. replacement? If not, even though you are not concerned about the financial aspect, an engine o/h just after joining could be a costly surprise.

Is their a treasurer to look after the finances, ensure members pay on time, keep the rate under review, etc.

Availability

What’s the availability of the aircraft like? How does the booking work and is the system easy.

Rules

Does the group have rules concerning group currency and at least a policy on keeping the aircraft clean, refuelled, maintained, etc.